FAQs

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education

Please contact us if you have questions concerning seminar approval, teaching credit or compliance information and deadlines. E-mail: mcle@okbar.org Phone: (405) 416-7009 P.O. Box 53036 Oklahoma City, OK 73152


Mandatory Continuing Legal Education, a program adopted by the Oklahoma Supreme Court in 1986, establishes minimum requirements for continuing legal education for Oklahoma attorneys. The program is administered by the OBA Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Commission. The Commission consists of eleven members.
Unless exempt, every active member and senior, must complete a minimum of 12 Oklahoma MCLE approved continuing legal education (CLE) credits during the calendar year. At least one of the 12 CLE credit hours must also be approved for legal ethics.
Except for associate and retired members, every OBA member must comply with the requirements unless covered by an exemption under Supreme Court Rule 2.
Yes
If you attend a course or seminar that has been accredited by the Oklahoma Bar Association MCLE Commission, you should sign-in before the seminar begins and after lunch, if applicable. Within 30 days of the program, the sponsor is required to post attendance using the OKMCLE online attendance reporting portal. In some cases, it may be necessary for you to obtain written verification of your attendance from the sponsor so that you can submit it to the MCLE Department. Lawyers are not able to self-report credit online.
No. The OBA/CLE Department is a presumptively approved sponsor of continuing legal education programs. The OBA/MCLE Department reviews programs for possible approval and keeps a record of the approved credit earned by OBA members.
Yes. Oklahoma requires that of the 12 credits of mandatory CLE required each year, a minimum of one credit must be approved for legal ethics or professionalism. Legal ethics approval may be granted to presentations involving professional responsibility, legal ethics or legal malpractice prevention. Attorney well-being and substance use disorders in attorneys may also qualify for ethics credit.

To meet the ethics requirement in Oklahoma, instruction must be in blocks of time specifically devoted to legal ethics. Issues related to ethics may be included as part of a program highlighting another area of the law, as long as the ethics portion is presented in identifiable blocks of time.
The period from January 1 through December 31 is the Oklahoma MCLE compliance period.
Newly licensed attorneys are exempt from the educational requirement for the remainder of the calendar year during which they are first admitted to practice law in Oklahoma. The first admitted exemption will be posted for all newly admitted lawyers. If newly admitted lawyers earn credit after they are admitted and by the end of the calendar year they are admitted, this credit can be carried forward to the following year only. The credit must be reported by February 15 of the following year.

The first full year following the year of admission, lawyers must earn the minimum requirement by December 31 of that year. If required credit is earned by December 31 and the MCLE Department received confirmation of attendance, the lawyer does not need to do anything further. Lawyers can check their MCLE record any time at www.okmcle.org.
Yes. A maximum of one year's requirement, 12 hours including 1 ethics hour, may be carried to the next year providing such credit is reported the year it is taken.
The MCLE rules no longer require that an Annual Report of Compliance be filed by members whose MCLE record reflects that he or she earned the required credit by December 31. The Annual Report of Compliance must be filed by members who do not have sufficient credit on their MCLE transcript or by members who must report an exemption. Exemptions for newly admitted attorneys are recorded automatically. No report is required from members entitled to this exemption. MCLE exemptions can also be reported online at www.okmcle.org.

In mid-January the Annual Report of Compliance is mailed to all members whose records indicate that they do not have sufficient credit. Upon receipt, members should make the appropriate additions or corrections on the report form or mark the appropriate exemption. Members may also report an exemption online.
Members of the OBA receive an Interim Annual Report of Compliance in late October by email. Members can check their current status online or contact the MCLE Department.
A "presumptively approved provider" is an organization whose entire CLE calendar has been accredited by the MCLE Commission. An attorney who attends a CLE activity sponsored or co-sponsored by a presumptively approved provider is generally assured MCLE credit, with one credit hour for each 50 minutes of actual instruction. Educational programs presented by presumptively approved providers do not qualify for MCLE credit if the topics are not directly related to substantive or procedural law or ethics.
Many sponsors are familiar with the application and attendance reporting procedures in Oklahoma. In-state sponsors will require attendees to sign in when the seminar begins and again after lunch. For out-of-state programs, many sponsors may have applied for credit prior to the program.

An attorney may apply for credit independently by completing the Uniform Application for Approval of CLE. The completed application, along with the $15 per application fee and a copy of the program agenda or brochure for computation of CLE general and ethics credits must also be included. A review of the seminar handout materials may also be required.

MCLE Regulation 4.5 requires that providers or attendees should apply for approval 45 days before the activity. While this is ideal, it is not always practical. Applications may be submitted within 90 days after a program or by December 31, whichever comes first; however, do not assume credit will be granted.
Allocation of continuing legal education hours is never arbitrary. Instead, each 50 minute segment of actual instructional time constitutes 1.0 CLE credit.
No. The OBA MCLE department will review an application for a CLE program held in any state or country. Course content, not location, is the controlling factor.
In addition to in-person programs, lawyers may earn credit by completing OK MCLE approved distance learning programs that include, webcasts, webcast replays (encores), teleconferences and on-demand programs. Group video presentations are allowed when the program is Oklahoma MCLE approved, there are at least 5 licensed attorneys attending the video, each attendee has the required written materials and the video is shown in a setting with writing surfaces.
Oklahoma does approve in-house programs as long as the program meets the criteria set forth in MCLE policy. Applications for approval of an in-house activity must be received by the Commission 45 days in advance of the program. In-house programs must be open and available to outsiders, if space permits and the program must meet all the standards for course approval found in Rule 7, Regulation 4.
Yes. Credit is available for regular enrollment or auditing an ABA accredited college of law course, equal to 3 times the number of credit hours granted by the college of law for completion of the course. A college transcript is required.
Attorneys must apply for teaching credit using the prescribed form. The applicant will be issued a notice of accreditation by email stating the CLE credits granted. Sponsors are also able to post teaching credit.
Regulation 3.3 provides 6 hours of CLE credit for each 50 minutes of instruction at an approved continuing legal education activity. If there are multiple presenters, the time is divided equally among the instructors.

Teaching credit is not awarded for the conference moderator and will not be awarded for teaching to a non-attorney audience. However, it may be possible to earn CLE teaching credit for presentations made to paralegals, legal assistants or legal secretaries.
No.
No. If attorneys complete their educational requirements after December 31, but before the following February 15, there is assessed a $100.00 fee for late compliance. After February 15, the late fee is $200. Members who remain noncompliant will be suspended.
The MCLE Commission has the authority to consider written requests for a full or partial waiver. Medical requests must be accompanied by a supporting statement from a physician.
The MCLE Office is located at the Oklahoma Bar Center. This office can be reached at (405) 416-7009 or (800) 522-8065 or mcle@okbar.org.

Oklahoma Mandatory Continuing Legal Education